top of page

Playlist of the Month // OCTOBER


As the days go darker and the Autumn wind tries to creep underneath my jumper (bloody perv), my playlist becomes a little bit softer and wistful. The closer we get to the end of October, the more my body is telling me to recover from an eventful summer and to dive into the phase of musical hibernation. Although this month's playlist does contain a healthy balance between electronic modern pop and rock, it's been strongly dominated by jazzy (as well as unusually close to R&B) and electronic sounds, that made my heart beat a little faster, and my ears be a little bit more attentive to the elements that composed some of the new, modern songs that for once aren't shit at all.

The Killers' unashamedly cheesy 80's pop vibes kicked off this month's playlist with some of my favourites from their freshly released album 'Wonderful Wonderful', and my love for it is as strong as it was when I first started listening to it. Walking down the street while listening to 'The Man' truly makes you feel like you're the man, and you're simply ready to just take over the world. FKJ has easily made it on my list of favourite jazzy and electronic pop artists, so not including him now would've made me seem like a complete hypocrite (which, if I'm honest, we all are anyway, but that's a whole 'nother story). We're also spicing it up a little with my new Get-Immediately-Happy songs like 'I Know The Feeling' by Rhys Lewis and Leon Russell's new song 'Love This Way'. As I was mentioning in my last blog post, Liam Gallagher did not disappoint me at all, so he got a special place in my playlist with a whole of four songs lined up one after the other. I feel like that's the least I could do for not nominating him 'favourite artist of the month'. Not that I'll ever be able to meet him personally, but I hope he's forgiven me spiritually in some weird, mental, Stranger Things kind of way.

The last months of the year are for melancholy, nostalgia and freezing off each and every limb of your body, while trying to ignore the fact that you're about to suffer for as long as winter lasts. To make everything a little bit more bearable, luckily we can choose the company of old familiar classics like Pearl Jam, Tom Petty, and good ol', never disappointing Sundara Karma. Since it's my birthday next month, I'll try to avoid falling into the trap of reflecting on who I was a couple of years ago (I am old enough to say that I remember what I did TEN years ago. If that shit doesn't scare you, then I don't know what could), and bring out all of the punk classics from my emo phase. Time travel would be a cool superpower, but if I could only travel back to that particular stage in my life, I would, without any hesitation, turn down that offer. Let's hope I'll be able to look forward instead of looking back, and stimulate your musical soul with some new, fresh suggestions next month. Until then, feel free to go on and stalk my Spotify. I'll take it as a birthday present (thank you in advance).

Relaterte innlegg

Se alle
STILL HERE?
JUST KEEP BINGE READING THANKS
bottom of page